Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can this be done with a STM32F103ZE

dubedat68
Associate II
Posted on March 16, 2015 at 13:17

Hello,

I have no experience at all with micro controllers & only brief experience with wiring up electronics / & some low-level programming, so please accept my apologies up-front.

I have a need to create a device that:

a.  Has ONE (1) incoming RS232 port

b.  Has FOUR (4) separate outgoing RS232 ports

c.  ''reads'' an incoming RS232 stream,

d.  look at the first 2 Bytes of info

e.  check for the ''address'' (2nd byte)

f.  if it is addressed ''FF 01 .........'', forward the complete original data out PORT 1 ONLY

g.  if it is addressed ''FF 02 .........'' re-address the data to ''FF 01 ........'' and forward the complete data out PORT 2 ONLY

h.  if it is addressed ''FF 03 .........'' 

re-address the data to ''FF 01 ........'' and forward the complete data out PORT 3 ONLY

i.  if it is addressed ''FF 04 .........'' 

re-address the data to ''FF 01 ........'' and forward the complete data out PORT 4 ONLY

Here is a drawing of this for those who are more ''visual'' like me.

https://communities.intel.com/servlet/JiveServlet/showImage/2-284311-243094/PelcoD---prototype.jpg

The baud rate is 9600, 8, N, 1 (no flow control), if that helps.

Is this possible with the STM32F103ZE?

If so, would anyone be willing to ''tutor'' me in learning how to get this done?

If not, would anyone be able to suggest a more suitable platform to achieve it?

Many thanks in advance,

duBe

28 REPLIES 28
dubedat68
Associate II
Posted on March 19, 2015 at 23:24

Thanks Hal,

your advice about the Nucleo 103 is greatly appreciated.

Yes, Clive1 has been amazingly helpful, as has Sapphire & all the other people who have contributed to my STEEP learning curve.

Many thanks,

duBe

dubedat68
Associate II
Posted on March 22, 2015 at 23:17

Hi all,

I've just placed an order for the following items:

2 x