cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bringing clock system configuration from NUCLEO-F207 board to stm32F207 based board

genisuvi
Associate III

I'm trying to run an application that works fine on the nucleo board environment on a custom board using the same mcu.

It's my first time and I'm using a protype pcb version with a very single circuitry.

I was working over a firmware example with HAL based drivers for Nucleo and I wrote application level code (user code, msp, it.. files). I was playing with freertos and leds. I was still keeping the system clock configuration whereas it was executed on Nucleo board.

Example works with HSE clock. As shown on the NUCLEO board and its given schematics I can see there is no mounted piece on HSE mcu pads. According schematics HSE seems to be an external source that comes from the integrated st-link circuit area (from the second mcu device). It's called bypass clock source.

I've also played with HSI clock source and it also works fine on NUCLEO board.

I'm wondering some things about clock sourcing and clock system configuration on a stm32f207 stand-alone microcontroller.

1. The first one could be a silly or obvious question but I'm not sure about the answer. Could physically be a crystall resonator/oscillator on those pins even if the application finally is configured for using HSI as a system clock? Could the physicall presence of a crystall cause clock system missfunction when HSE is not used?
  2. I'm trying to bring the same application execution to my stm32f207 microcontroller. How can I configure the system clock in order to not cause setup problems trying to do the same code execution that was done on nucleo board?