cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I receive a command through UART in polling mode?

mighty aldenham
Associate

I'm new to STM32 processors. I'm learning on a Nucleo F103rb board. I was able to receive a single character through UART in polling mode, but unfortunately I have difficulties in receiving more than 1 character. It would be used for the device to wait for a user command and then execute it.

I'm using the HAL_UART_Receive function. This code allows me to receive a singe character and then use it e.g. in a switch/case instruction

while(1)
	{
		if (__HAL_UART_GET_FLAG(&uart, UART_FLAG_RXNE) == SET)
		{
			uint8_t value;
			HAL_UART_Receive(&uart, &value, 1, 100);

switch (value)

The value variable needs to be a uint8_t type. However now I need to receive a table of chars. How do I do that? If I need a 3-character command, shall I change 1 to 3 (or 4, because there is a \0 character on the end of each string)?

I would then use the string with an if and a strcmp() method, but I do need to know how to receive and store multiple characters with the terminal waiting for the full input.

This is probably a basic c programming matter and surely easy peasy for many experienced programmers. But I need to learn this somehow. I will be thankful for any help.

4 REPLIES 4
Bob S
Principal

HAL UART polled RX is only useful if you are receiving fixed-length data, and even then it can cause trouble. However...

Are all of your commands 3 characters? Or 4 characters if the other device sends a NULL (or some other terminator character)? And does the other device then wait for your response before sending more data? If so, then you can probably use HAL_UART_Receive() with the length value equal to your command length.