cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Coustom bootloader dosent start the application when power is turned off and turned on

RRC
Associate II

We have custom bootloader that jumps to application when i switch off power and switch on power the bootloader dosent jump ton application , so again inned to upload Application to it

4 REPLIES 4
TThan
Associate III

Hi RRC,

may I ask you to elaborate a bit more about your issue? From the information you gave it is very difficult, if not impossible, to give you any help.

I have some experience with custom bootloaders an STM32 microcontrollers, so I know that it is possible.

When you say you have to upload the application again, you mean that you start the application from your IDE again? In that case the program counter will most likely be set to your application and started directly from there. Or is the custom bootloader overwritten in that case?

Most likely issures causing such problems are:

• Linker file issues
  • Stakpoint of app not set correctly in bootloader
  • Missing interrupt enables in app or too much enables interrupts from bootloader when app gets calles
  • Wrong app entry point called by bootloader
  • Peripehals still enabled from bootloader that are not handled in the app or could not be simply reconfigured in app before deinitializing them properly.

Did you try to debug the firmware start from bootloader in the Disassembly view instruction by instrucion?

Maybe the app gets stuck in the Hardfault Handler or an unhandled interrupt? Just guessing here.

Regards

Thomas

RRC
Associate II

Yes Thomas as you said i upload a code from IDE , Actually what happans once the Application code upload with ide it works good both Bootloader and application code too But when I remove power and plug in the application code and bootloader code both are there in memroy ,As i want as device get the power it need to jump to application from bootloader as in case do you have any solution ,