cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

problem of using USART3 on STMH563ZI

BrianYuan
Associate II

I'm new to STM and I'm trying to use USART to communicate between MCU board and my computer. I'm now using USART2 and CP2102 to translate TTL to USB. And have succeeded. But my goal is to directly use USB-C of STLINK to output serial data, because the user manual of this board just like below shows that the USART3 can directly output to USB-C of STLINK.  But I failed to use only USB to communicate and I don't no why.

BrianYuan_0-1713880809410.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SofLit
ST Employee

Hello,

Via ZIO connector, simply connect:

USART2_RX (PA3)  to USART3_TX (PD9)
USART2_TX (PD5) to USART3_TX (PD8)

Without disordering anything, you need to ensure that USART3 IOs are not configured to keep them as inputs.

To give better visibility on the answered topics, please click on "Accept as Solution" on the reply which solved your issue or answered your question.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Pavel A.
Evangelist III

Check the solder bridges mentioned in the documentation. Has anyone played with this board before you?

Is the VCP of the board visible on the host side (lsusb or device manager) ?

SofLit
ST Employee

Hello,

Via ZIO connector, simply connect:

USART2_RX (PA3)  to USART3_TX (PD9)
USART2_TX (PD5) to USART3_TX (PD8)

Without disordering anything, you need to ensure that USART3 IOs are not configured to keep them as inputs.

To give better visibility on the answered topics, please click on "Accept as Solution" on the reply which solved your issue or answered your question.

Thanks for your reply.
This board is brand new board, so the solder bridges should be default just like mentioned in the documentation. And sorry that I don't know what is VCP, could you please explain what do you mean by VCP is visible on host side?