cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can we read/write using SPI

ANaud.1
Associate II

Hi,

I don't really understand the datasheet of the ST25R3916 IC chip.

At page 53, they show an exemple of a direct write command. As I understand, we need to send 1-1-C5-C4-C3-C2-C1-C0. When I check table 13 to see the command code that go for bits C5..C0, the hexa is something like C1 = 11000001. There is 8 bits on the command code and on page 53 they only send 6 bits. I am confused...

Same thing to read a register for example. We need to send 0-1- the register address. There is no register that are 6 bits long, so how can I write my SPI package?

Sorry if it is not clear, english is not my first language and I am still learning SPI communication, so it may seems easy, but I still don't get it :(

Thanks for any clarification.

Antoine

20 REPLIES 20

Hi Ben,

This is really helpfull, but is there a place that I can see what each communication is for and what it is doing ? There is a lot of communication going on and its hard to understand each one.

Thanks again,

Antoine

Hi Antoine,

Which tags are you trying to read? The default settings of the chip allow to access NFC-A tags (still analog configs are applied by our software to improve overall performance).

In its simplest incarnation the following should give you some data for an NFC-A tag on the antenna:

1. POR
  2. Set register 02h -> 0xC8, wait 1ms. (This procedure is not recommended for production as you are outputting a field while starting oscillator which may create EM disturbances).
  3. Wait 5ms
  4. Send Direct command 0xC7 (Transmit WUPA). This will give you after some time 1Ah->0x38 and 1Eh->0x02 (2 bytes of ATQA in FIFO)

Best Regards, Ulysses

Repeating this sequence will only work every other time (due to Tag state machine!). For all other protocols you will need to perform additional changes (operating mode, AM/OOK, filter settings, reciever settings, ......)