cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

L6262 2.6 Troubleshooting

avladov84
Associate

Hello, I apologize if this is completely the wrong place to ask this question.  I've been trying to learn and soak up as much information as I can about PCB board design, components, etc through a restoration project on a very old hard drive.  But I am admittedly a novice here, and information on this chip seems so hard to find...

I have a WD400BB that fails to spin up, and I purchased a donor PCB that matches it, however this one also fails to spin it up.  I've confirmed using a different PCB, with the same 4-pin motor interface that the physical motor is functioning, which shows that the issue is with the board(s).  What is curious is that both the original and the "new" board exhibit the same symptom (coincidence?).

My troubleshooting so far has led me here.  I've been testing the motor controller, which is an ST L6262 2.6 chip.  I cannot find a datasheet on this component which has me stuck.  The closest one I found was the L6268, but it seems like the placement of the OUT pins has changed between these versions (R_SENSE seems to be switched with OUT_B?).  I've attached a screenshot below showing voltage readings on each pin, along with good continuity tests between those pins and the 4-pin motor assembly.  The upshot is that the chip is not sending any voltage to any of the OUT pins, leading me to believe that it's missing some input on one of the other 41 pins or there's some other fault occurring.

chip.png

I'm hoping that someone here could help me understand where to look next.  I'm happy to collect more information if it would be helpful.

Thank you so much!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Peter BENSCH
ST Employee

Welcome @avladov84, to the community!