cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use STSW-IMG035 Hand Posture?

emilywengster
Associate

Hello, I'm currently trying to use "STSW-IMG035 Turnkey gesture recognition solution based on VL53L5CX, VL53L7CX and VL53L8CX multizone Time-of-Flight ranging sensors" on my board. I have a NUCLEO-F401RE and XNUCLEO-53L8A1 expansion board. I'm very new at this and I want to be able to get Hand Posture VL53L8 sensor driver to be able to display some output (thumbs up or thumbs down) but I have no idea how to do that. Do I need to load any dataset before I can use it? Any form of help is appreciated. Thank you!

7 REPLIES 7
John E KVAM
ST Employee

The STSW_IMG035 has code for the STM32F401RE which can do gestures. 

We define Gesture as a swipe (left, right, up or down) plus tap and double tap. 

This is a algorithmic function based on finding the center of the hand and tracking it. 

It is NOT A/I.

We have built demos where we tried, postures such as thumbs-up, thumbs-down, halt, OK and a few others.

And one can do it with A/I.

Create a bunch of datasets using the distance data and the signal strength. Then fire up your A/I engine. 
- john

If this or any post solves your issue, please mark them as 'Accept as Solution' It really helps. And if you notice anything wrong do not hesitate to 'Report Inappropriate Content'. Someone will review it.

Hello John, 

Thank you for your reply. Could you give us any hints on what AI ideas we should try to have hand posture running? May I also ask if what is achieved is static gesture recognition? I am currently encountering challenges with dynamic gesture recognition. Thank you!

-Emily

We are exploring AI technology to address dynamic gesture recognition using your 3D sensor. Could you provide some insights into which AI model you utilized for your AI-based solution?

Hi all,

that's good to read people wanting to play with AI with our ST ToF sensors.