cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

The interface firmware FAILED to reset/halt the target MCU (NUCLEO-F446RE)

FAger.1
Associate II

Hi, I'm new to this, so bare with me 🙂

I'm following the UM2421 - getting startet guide for the P-NUCLEO-IOM01M1, and everytime I connect the USB to my PC, I get the FAIL.txt where it says: The interface firmware FAILED to reset/halt the target MCU. I believe that, this problem prevents me for connecting to my IO-link device?

I have tried to reinstall the ST-LINK, update the firmware on the NUCLEO-F446RE, rebooting my PC, but everytime i get the FAIL.txt saying the same thing.

I have no idea what to do, so please if someone have a solution for this problem.

15 REPLIES 15
Peter BENSCH
ST Employee

The NUCLEO boards come with an integrated debug interface called ST-LINK/V2-1, on newer devices also the ST-LINK/V3. Beside other cool things these ST-LINKs provide a mass storage to the operating system, e.g. under Windows the next free drive letter. While reinstalling the ST-LINK means updating/reinstalling the device driver of the operating system, updating the firmware means the software running on the target (here STM32F446RE) - but it looks like you didn't update the firmware of the built-in ST-LINK/V2-1.

But don't worry, you can do this easily. Depending on your software setup this can be performed using:

...then just Open in update mode (usually you shouldn't check the option Change type, except you know, what your are doing).

When your question is answered, please close this topic by choosing Select as Best.

Good luck!

/Peter

In order to give better visibility on the answered topics, please click on Accept as Solution on the reply which solved your issue or answered your question.
FAger.1
Associate II

Hi Peter