cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Working with SW4STM32 Workspaces, what are the RULES, why PROPERTIES won't show the present WORKSPACE?

TFlac
Associate III

I am new to STM32F products and SW4STM32 Development Tools including CubeMX. I also own a STM32F303RE Eval Brd. While working with SW4STM32 (IDE) I created a WORKSPACE; part of the initial opening. Also, the INITIAL install of STM32Cube_F3 included the locations of the PROJECT EXAMPLES. The first time I used SW4STM32, the tool opened and ask for a WORKSPACE. The tool actually picked the workspace and all I needed to do was accept. While working with the tools I noted the original EXAMPLES file got changed. I was working with EXAMPLES\GPIO\GPIO_IOToggle. I decided to back-track to see how the files got changed.

My thought was to go back and reload STM32Cube_F3 again in a new directory, thus restoring all the examples to their initial state. I wanted the changed EXAMPLE files in the initial STM32Cube_F3 to remain in the changed state. I then proceeded to open the GPIO EXAMPLE again under the new STM32CubeF3 install using the SW4STM32 (IDE). This did not work so well.

When I opened the SW4STM32 the PROJECT EXPLORER was empty. The design space was 100% empty. I went over to the PROJECT TAB and the OPEN PROJECT selection was grayed out. I then went to SWITCH WORKSPACE and that's when the problems began; the SW4STM32 would reboot in a loop, coming back to a same blank environment. I spent several minutes trying to load the EXAMPLES and there was no way to do it, not even through IMPORT. The IMPORT procedure stated there was a WORKSPACE issue.

I finally went back to SWITCH WORKSPACE and selected one of the two choices offered by the tool. I noted there were four previous projects in PROJECT EXPLORER; this was a relief, seemed I found a valid WORKSPACE.