Hi,

I'm relatively new to STM32 series of SOCs and there seem to be pleothra of

information on Bootloader and Device Firmware update. These are perhaps the

two major reason, why I do not have a clear picture of DFU of STM32 (In my

case STM32F072R8). My queries are:

1: Does ST Microelectronics releases some bootloader code with the appropriate

memory layout (I assume that bootloader and the application firmware(s) will

sit in the different flash memory region) that I can compile, build and flash

using usual programming tools (KEIL uVision5, ST Link Debugger) ?

2: In the

http://www.st.com/web/en/catalog/tools/PF260157

for STM32F0xxxx, I found one sample program that

describes the method to program the STM32F0xx internal flash memory, which

could be a starting point for writing a custom bootloader, but this is not

complete, since this sample code (Flash_program) does not have logic to switch

back and forth from Application firmware code or handling corrupted firmware

download. For my application needs, I'm thinking of a trigger mechanism, that

will boot STM into bootloader mode, where the Bootloader will download the

new firmware over USART (Bootloader should be able to access peripherals and

recieve application firmware binary over USARTx) and flash the internal user

flash and switch to the new firmware, in case the new firmware flashing

completes with success. Are there similar application guide and/or sample code?

Thanks.

#stm32
4 REPLIES 4
Posted on October 06, 2015 at 18:01

The System Loader is in ROM, if it supports DFU for your specific part then it will load it into FLASH in exactly the same place every other piece of code resides.

You should review other IAP (In Application Programming) examples. Transferring control is a matter of jumping to another location, typically done with the standard C concept of function pointers.