cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Global variable overlaps with stack.

BigBrick
Associate II

Hi.

I am absolute noob with stm32 and i am currently trying to connect GY-GPS6MV2 module to RobotDyn STM32 Mini(STM32F103C8T6).  I have connected GPS module to pins and set up USART1 in asyncronous mode. I have done everethyng according to official example on how to work with USART1 using DMA. In the interrupt handler i wrote small piece of code to copy data from rx buffer to linked list. But from here things have gone really weird, because in the debugger i see, that my global variable(nmea_head, this is first node in linked list) is allocated in the same memory area where irq handler stack resides(See attached screenshots). What am i doing wrong?
STM32_SP.jpeg

Here you can see, that SP for HAL_UART_RxCpltCallback is at 0x20000104

STM32_Declaration.jpeg

This is definition of global variable nmea_head. On the right side you can see, that it was placed on the address 0x20000110. This address overlaps with stack frame of HAL_UART_RxCpltCallback, so my variable gets corrupted. What am i doing wrong?

This  happens prior to any calls to malloc or free, and i am not accessing this variable from anywhere else, so there should not be any race conditions.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Looks like the MCU is booting from system memory. The next address (initial PC) is in the System Memory Area (0x1FFFF000-...) with the internal boot loader. Maybe such a little stack space is okay for that boot loader.

The board should have a BOOT0 pin/jumper that must be set to low for booting your code from user flash area (0x08000000-...)

Whats written in the project linker script file (.ld)?

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14
TDK
Guru