cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Debug problem after installing git

Ragbagger
Associate II

I am rather new to STM32CubeIDE so this may be a dumb question. I have built a project and have it all working fine and SWD debugging via STLink2 is working great. The problem arises when I share the project via git and it gets put in a git repository outside the workspace. Once it is in the git repository I can still edit and build the project but when I go to debug it is a no go. Selecting debug as>STm32 C/C++ Application now does nothing. I expect this is because the files are not actually in the workspace anymore so debug can't find them. I'm guessing there is something I need to do to the debug configuration but I'm not sure what. Either that or I implemented the git repository wrong. Any help would be appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Ragbagger
Associate II

OK, I have a solution. If I create the local git repository in the project directory in the workspace then git leaves the files in the workspace and all is fine when opening a debug perspective. There is probably a solution for when the project files are outside the workspace too such as Bob S suggested but I have not tried that yet. Thanks for the suggestions everyone.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
TDK
Guru

You can add projects from outside of the workspace directory to STM32CubeIDE using File -> Import or by opening the .project file.

If you feel a post has answered your question, please click "Accept as Solution".
Bob S
Principal

Also, by default CubeIDE stores the debug "launch" files in the workspace's .metadata directory.  So if you add the project to a different workspace it will not have the associated launch files.