cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

32G431 power supply problem

JJeba.1
Associate II

Hello

I am a total beginner in the STM world. Two months ago I migrated from arduino to STM and this forum hase been a lot of help.

But for this problem I cannot find a rational explanation.

Anyway I am making a custom board with the 32G431KB MCU and i have a problem that seems power supply related.

I use a ST-Link colne and so far I managed to program a few MCUs but this one is causing me problems.

Anyway I have a custom board with Lm1117-3.3v refulator and 100nF decoupling caps close to the MCU pins and a 22uF at the output of the regulator.

If I power the MCU with 3.3V the CubeIDE and programmed does not recognize the device but if I put 3.3V in the input of the LM1117-3.3 the output voltage drops to about 2.4V I can program the MCU and debugging works as expected.

I have removed the regulator from the board and tried powering with 3.3V and it does not work. But if I put a diode in series with the 3.3V to bring down the voltage to 2.6V it works again.

I ran out of ideas what could be wrong.

If I program the MCU and then run it with 3.3V everything is ok. I just can't debug and program at 3.3V

​I hope i explained good enough.

Thank you

6 REPLIES 6
moatjon
Associate III

Hi JJeba.1,

It's very hard to find the root of the problem you describe without having a look at the circuitry. Can you post your schematics and PCB?

JJeba.1
Associate II