cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sending large amount of data with STM32WB BLE

y.arikok
Associate II

I'm completely new to the embedded software and want to use STM32WB for my project, which will send image data from USART camera to the mobile phone. For now, I'm researching about BLE (protocols, characteristics etc.) and have no clue about how to use it. I've read the application note AN5289 and it didn't work well for me.

Where can I start researching?

What should I do?

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Remi QUINTIN
ST Employee

​According to theoretical calculation , it is possible to achieve up to 97,600 bytes/s for 1 Mbps PHY on BLE 5. 96,000 bytes/s is a regular measurement done on our Nucleo board. It is possible to achieve high-speed data communications via the USART connection by using DMA.

There are a lot of presentation on the net regarding the BLE protocol.

You can start buying a STM32WB55 package on st.com web site and play with it using the CubeWB FW package available from the STM32WB web page here

https://www.st.com/en/embedded-software/stm32cubewb.html

You can of course use STM32CubeIDE.

We have also many application notes here: https://www.st.com/content/st_com/en/products/microcontrollers-microprocessors/stm32-32-bit-arm-cortex-mcus/stm32-wireless-mcus/stm32wb-series/stm32wbx5/stm32wb55rg.html#

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
Remi QUINTIN
ST Employee

​According to theoretical calculation , it is possible to achieve up to 97,600 bytes/s for 1 Mbps PHY on BLE 5. 96,000 bytes/s is a regular measurement done on our Nucleo board. It is possible to achieve high-speed data communications via the USART connection by using DMA.

There are a lot of presentation on the net regarding the BLE protocol.

You can start buying a STM32WB55 package on st.com web site and play with it using the CubeWB FW package available from the STM32WB web page here