cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TouchGFX compatibility with ChibiOS

DOkaz.1
Associate II

Hi,

Doing some research for development of a smartwatch like product and was trying to figure out if TouchGFX was compatible with ChibiOS.

It seems like it should be possible, with the docs saying that any CMIS compliant OS is supported, however I wanted to double check to make sure.

It also seems like the process would have to be manual for configuration, is there any guides on what exactly needs to be configured for TouchGFX to work?

From Docs:

Generally, the following manual steps are required:

1. Configure the RTOS
  2. Define a task to run TouchGFX (MX_TouchGFX_Process)
  3. Start the scheduler

I have some embedded knowledge, so i understand most of the concepts but pretty new to RTOS development.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

5 REPLIES 5
Osman SOYKURT
ST Employee

Hello DOkaz.1,

The steps looks fine to me. The file you need to modify is OSWrappers.cpp. This one contains the definition of all functions that works with the OS. So you need to remove FreeRTOS functions and use your function to make them work with ChibiOS. You can get help from this document which explains which function do what.

/Osman

Osman SOYKURT
ST Software Developer | TouchGFX
Martin KJELDSEN
Chief III

Hi,

The TouchGFX Generator in CubeMX supports CMSIS V1 and V2 interfaces. Looking at github it looks as if chibiOS is cmsis OS compliant:

ChibiOS/cmsis_os.c at master · ChibiOS/ChibiOS (github.com)

This means you can use the OSWrapper.cpp you get from us (By choosing CMSIS OS V1/2 in the TouchGFX generator interface).

Since CubeMX cannot help you with ChibiOS, you just have to add the files to your project manually, and also start a new task for TouchGFX to run in. You can get some inspiration by looking at how we do it for FreeeRTOS (Check one of the board packages from the designer).

/Martin

Hi Martin,