cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

srec_cat CRC calculated over hex file doens't match one calculated with CRC peripheral

CiuppaPT
Associate III

Hello,

I know this has been discussed before, but following your procedure i am still unable to generate with srec_cat the same CRC of one generated by STM32 CRC hw peripheral.

did you make some other tricks in order to have match between the two CRC calculation over the whole STM32F746G 1MB of flash?

I post my chesum.bat file launched in post compliation

..\srec_cat.exe %1 -Intel -fill 0xFF 0x08000000 0x080FFFFC -STM32 0x080FFFFC -o 06_F746-DISCO-CRC_SRECORD.hex -Intel

8 REPLIES 8

How do you configure the CRC module in STM32, and then how do you feed it?

Try this on some shorter portion of the file, post that portion and results of both calcutions.

JW

Dfarr.1
Senior

I am no expert at this. But I got my CRC system working after lots of guides followed and a couple of questions on here. I'll try and pay it forward.

Here's my post from when I was trying to figure all this out. Its a bit scattered, but there are a couple of links there that were helpful to me:

https://community.st.com/s/question/0D53W00000jo7VhSAI/flash-integrity-crc

So here's my working solution. Hold onto your hat.

I've split my SREC script into 3 post-build steps. The 3 steps are called by a post build batch file:

0_postbuild.bat

Call this from your IDE as a post-build step. You'll have to define a path variable in your IDE to srec_cat.exe to use this batch file as-written.

..\0_postBuild.bat ${SREC_PATH} ${ProjName}
@echo off
set Srec_Path=%1
set ProjName=%2
set unfill=%3

%Srec_Path%\srec_cat.exe %ProjName%.hex @..\1_fillgaps.srec

if not "%unfill%"=="" (
	%Srec_Path%\srec_cat.exe @..\2_sign.srec -o 2_signed.hex -Intel -line-length=44
	%Srec_Path%\srec_cat.exe @..\3_unfillgaps.srec -o %ProjName%_CRC.hex -Intel -line-length=44