Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Read out Start-Up RAM values

an
Associate II
Posted on October 12, 2012 at 11:28

Hey there,

I am pretty new to micrcontrollers and such. I recently bought a STM32VL Discovery, which I am programming with CoCoox IDE.

My goal is to read out the start-up values of internal RAM. By start-up values I mean the values of RAM cells just after the power-up of the device when no other application interferred with the ram.

Is this possible somehow? Could you guys guide me to some literature or give me some hints?

Thanks in advance!

#describe-the-goal-not-the-step
27 REPLIES 27
M0NKA
Senior
Posted on November 14, 2012 at 16:14

Yes, there is crypto processor, random number generator and hash processor.

From Section 20.1 of the pdf:

The RNG processor is a random number generator, based on a continuous analog noise,

that provides a random 32-bit value to the host when read. The RNG is expected to provide

a success ratio of more than 85% to FIPS 140-2 tests for a sequence of 20 000 bits,

measured on corner conditions by device characterization.

�? It delivers 32-bit random numbers, produced by an analog generator

�? 40 periods of the PLL48CLK clock signal between two consecutive random numbers

�? Monitoring of the RNG entropy to flag abnormal behavior (generation of stable values,

or of a stable sequence of values)

�? It can be disabled to reduce power-consumption

I still didn't get from your reply if you are going to use the ram values for some security,

but if it is, i think i have read about some attacks on this using low temperatures and stuff.

And lets not forget that almost any microcontroller code extraction these days cost

400-500 USD in Shenzhen, so maybe such effort is overkill. If you are not going to

use this for security, just ignore my post.

BR

Posted on November 14, 2012 at 17:01

The chip could be flashed from blank via USB, so i assume there is some kind of