cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Migrating code from IAR to GCC: __no_init, __ramfunc

AZube.2
Associate III

Hey,

I am trying to modify some compiler/linker directives from IAR to GCC. I think I already managed to solve the first two obstacles:

1 - In order to not initialize a variable saved in some register:

static volatile __no_init uint32_t SystemInfoFlags;

becomes,

static volatile __attribute__((section (".noinit"))) uint32_t SystemInfoFlags;

2- In order to save a function in RAM and execute it faster:

__ramfunc uint16_t CRC_calc(uint8_t *start, uint8_t *end);

becomes

__attribute__((section(".data.ram"))) uint16_t CRC_calc(uint8_t *start, uint8_t *end);

These are true (from what I understand, because I am new to all these) since in the linker file I could find both sections. The following is part of what I found when observing the linker file that I already had:

/* Start placing output sections which are loaded into RAM */
  . = ORIGIN(RAM);

.stack ALIGN(8) (NOLOAD):
  {
    __StackLimit = .;
    KEEP(*(.stack*))
    . = ALIGN(4);
    __StackTop = .;
    PROVIDE(__stack = __StackTop);
  } > RAM

.noinit . (NOLOAD):
  {
    *(.noinit*);
  } > RAM

.data . : AT (__etext)
  {
    . = ALIGN(4);
    __data_start__ = .;
    *(vtable)
    *(.data*)
    . = ALIGN (4);

PROVIDE(__ram_func_section_start = .);
    *(.ram)
    PROVIDE(__ram_func_section_end = .);

Can anyone confirm that I understood correctly? Or can anyone tell me if I am wrong? This is the first time I am doing these kind of work and I am quite lost with it.

Thanks in advance and best regards,

Asier

1 REPLY 1

Seems like a reasonable start.

The thing to remember is that you have to implement the unpacking in startup.s.

In Keil and IAR the linker does a lot of things without specific direction or configuration, as they were build from an embedded perspective.