cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am a beginner, I will use the STM32F107VCT6. I have 2 paths. A Stm32-comStick from Hitex and on the other hand a ST-LINK (from 2011) with a Waveshare socket. Can these paths be taken with the STM32CUBEMX? Please advice.

JAnon.1
Associate

3 REPLIES 3
Nikita91
Lead II

STM32CubeMx can generate a project for any STM32 MCU. The question is rather how to compile and debug.

If you want to use CubeMX to generate a project you need to use an IDE to compile and debug, like CubeIDE or TrueSTUDIO.

These IDE only support STLINK or J-LINK as in-circuit debugger.

I would therefore choose a development board incorporating this type of probe (unless you already have a probe of the right type). I recommend using ST-LINK V2-1 instead of V2, the VPC is very useful.

What is a "ST-LINK (from 2011) with a Waveshare socket" ?

Dear Nikita91,

first thank you for your help, and sorry for spending time contacting you.

For your answer, i understand CubeMX generate a file that i can use after with other software to "load" and "real debug". This is, i will be able use CubeMX to make my program and virtual debug, and after use Hitop (from Hitex) software of Stm32-comStick to "load" in this hardware. It is right?

My wish for work with STM32 MCU come since ten years. I bought the first ST-LINK hardware programmer, at 2011. To plug to MCU found a socket, which also allow take out the pin out of MCU to project board. This socket, i found in Waveshare, for my MCU i bought the STM32 QFP100.

https://www.waveshare.com/product/sockets-adapters/specific-programming-adapters/stm32-series.htm

The idea was use to program my MCUs and next weld it in my real design. Now you can buy stencil and board, with your design for reasonable money. I have tried with a chip package LCSP (very dificult) and made it to the first.

My doubt now is if my old ST-LINK will work with CubeIDE.

Nikita91
Lead II