cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I get the Timer status register (SR) in an interrupt routine or why it is not working?

CPete.2
Associate

Hi, i am very new to microcontrollers and have a problem that I cannot understand.

I use a STM32F407 on a Discovery board. I set up channel 1 and channel 2 of the TIM2 timer for input capture. As soon the execution jumps into the interrupt handler "HAL_TIM_IC_CaptureCallback" (and stop on breakpoint at line 3) I can see the right values for SR in the debugger's SFRs window. So, the UIF-flag is set and CC1IF and/or CC1IF. If I do now one step further from the breakpoint, the CCxIF-flags get set to 0. The datasheet says that those got reset by query the CCRx-value but I don't do this:

void HAL_TIM_IC_CaptureCallback(TIM_HandleTypeDef *htim)
{
	uint8_t t_status = 0;

if(TIM2->SR & TIM_SR_CC1IF)
		t_status = 1;
	else if (TIM2->SR & TIM_SR_CC2IF)
		t_status = 2;

Is it not possible to read the registers in an interrupt routine?

What is the right way to get the channel that caused the interrupt?

What could it be that i do wrong?

Also when it hits the breakpoint the first time in the interrupt routine the CCRx-value I query is not the same like in the debugger's SFRs window.

BR

Christian

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
TDK
Guru

> Is it not possible to read the registers in an interrupt routine?

Flags are cleared prior to the HAL callbacks being called. So you can read SR but it won't have the info you're looking for.

> What is the right way to get the channel that caused the interrupt?

The HAL way is to check htim->Channel value for HAL_TIM_ACTIVE_CHANNEL_1 or similar.

> Also when it hits the breakpoint the first time in the interrupt routine the CCRx-value I query is not the same like in the debugger's SFRs window.

Timers keep running when paused in debug mode which can cause register values to change. Probably a result of this.