cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hi everyone, I'm a beginner with MCUs. I want to read ADC values from 12 channels continuously and I'd like to implement an averaging process before transmitting them through UART. I'm using Nucleo-L476RG.

AMahm.1
Associate II

Signals are similar across all 12 channels but I'm confused about how to run the averaging algorithm for 12 channels at the same time. Currently, I can get the ADC values from all 12 channels using DMA without the averaging process.

To explain further, my analog signals are like square waves and I want to average ADC values for the plateaus only. What could be the most efficient way to do this?

Thanks in advance ��

7 REPLIES 7

Well the DMA isn't going to do the averaging, and software isn't going to do "at the same time" in a parallel sense.

You'll want to use arrays/structures, have an instance for each of the 12 channels. Do it in a way that scales, rather than you coding repetitively.

Not sure how exactly you'd locate the plateaus, you could perhaps keep a running average of N samples, perhaps holding them in an array so you can roll the old values from the average.

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
Sebastiaan
Senior

For averaging you can indeed keep track of a an array of the past N samples. But another approach might be to use exponential smoothing with a very low smoothing (alpha) factor, e.g. 0.01

smoothing works by setting the average value = (1-alpha) * [previous average value] + alpha * new value. See wikipedia page.