cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HardFault in etharp_raw with LwIP and NUCLEO-H723ZG

marcociprianiaa
Associate II

I'm quite new to STM32, and I'm trying to get LwIP up and running on my NUCLEO-H723ZG. No matter what I've tried so far, my board has always goes into HardFault, specifically during MX_LWIP_Init(), when the HAL calls etharp_raw(). Here is the full call stack for reference:

298392412-b6d91517-dd38-4c2b-97ee-75f23f506cc3.png

Here are the lines of code in etharp.c in which the HardFault occurs:

etharp_request_dst():

marcociprianiaa_2-1706114558348.png

etharp_raw():

marcociprianiaa_3-1706114579763.png

These are the steps I followed so far:

• Set up a new CubeIDE project for the NUCLEO-H723ZG board, and enabled:
    • Speculation, ICache, DCache, MPU
    • Debug with Trace Async Sw
    • USB Device, CDC class (I need it)
    • FreeRTOS with CMSIS_V2, USE_NEWLIB_REENTRANT
    • ETH, Rx descriptor to 0x30000000, Tx descriptor to 0x30000100
    • LwIP, LAN8742 interface, heap pointer to 0x30000200
  • Set my clock configuration to use the High Speed Internal RC (this NUCLEO board doesn't have a HSE crystal), 550MHz clock 
  • Set the SYS timebase to TIM6
  • Followed the detailed guide by @Adam BERLINGER in this forum post
    • Set up the MPU with all the correct addresses for the STM32H723
    • Set every ETH pin with Very High speed
    • Set all the stack sizes following the guide
    • Configured LwIP, again following the guide
    • Modified the code as described in the post and in the GitHub repo (including the _FLASH.ld linker script), except for adding lwiperf, since I'm not even able to reach the main loop of the code.

I've also tried:

• Doing everything as above, but without FreeRTOS:
    • In this case, I didn't follow the last step of modifying the code, since any of that resulted in compilation errors. I also tried with and without modifying the linker script.