cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HAL_Delay not affecting frequency of a Blinking Light

Splatt
Associate II

I am new to STM32, and I am using a STM32L152c discovery board to run a sample blinking light program. I am using HAL_Delay to control the frequency of the blinking light. However, the frequency does not change when I change the argument to HAL_Delay, or even if I remove HAL_Delay altogether. I would appreciate any assistance. I have included the main function and the HAL_Delay code that was provided in the project setup.

Also, where can I find code documentation? I was trying to find something to help explain HAL_Delay and other functions, but I could not find anything.

int main(void){
  HAL_Init();
  SystemClock_Config();
  MX_GPIO_Init();
  MX_ADC_Init();
  MX_LCD_Init();
  MX_TS_Init();
  while (1){
	  HAL_GPIO_TogglePin(LD3_GPIO_Port, LD3_Pin);
	  HAL_Delay(1000);
  }
}
//This function was sourced from the stm32l1xx_hal.c file generated at project start
__weak void HAL_Delay(uint32_t Delay){
  uint32_t tickstart = HAL_GetTick();
  uint32_t wait = Delay;

/* Add a period to guaranty minimum wait */
  if (wait < HAL_MAX_DELAY)
  {
    wait += (uint32_t)(uwTickFreq);
  }

while((HAL_GetTick() - tickstart) < wait)
  {
  }
}

11 REPLIES 11

Are you sure you are compiling/downloading this program?

JW

KnarfB
Principal III

HAL_Delay takes the delay in ms. If you remove that line, the LED will toggle at very high speed and you won't see it blinking. Chances are that your compilation/linking/downloading of the new prog. failed and the original prog. is still executed.

The HAL docs are generated from the source code, so there is no much new information in it. You can learn it best from examples and tutorials and by debug-stepping into the HAL code. There are many videos around, perhaps not so many for L1 but other series.

hth

KnarfB

Yes. If I change which light is blinking, the program does respond.