Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fail to make own STM32 board

sragen
Associate II
Posted on August 23, 2011 at 05:28

Dear all,

Sorry, I am a newbie on STM32 microcontroller.

Yesterday I have made my own STM32F103RBT6 board. I use L1117-3.3 as my 3,3 volt regulator. The external components are Crystalls, capacitors for crystall, supply capacitors, reset circuit (using R and C), and resistor pull down for boot 0 and boot 1 pin.

When I apply 5 volt voltage to the regulator, firstly its is OK it only draws current about 4mA. But several second after that the current increase over 200mA. and then I check the VDD and VSS has been short Circuit. And the chip has been damaged.

Thus I remove the chip and measure the VDD-VSS voltage, and it is 3.3volt. I've recheck my PCB, and I can't found any mistakes. 

I've already burn 5 chips last night, and I don not know whats wrong with the circuit.

If the there any suggestions  for my problem will be very appreciated.

Thank for advance.

Best Regard,

Eko Henfri.

#make-own-stm32-board
27 REPLIES 27
drzile86
Associate II
Posted on August 24, 2011 at 13:52

Hi, 

I have looked at your schematic, everything is OK, except you don't need pull up resistor on the NRST pin, STM32F1xx MCU has it embedded. Look at the AN2586. Maybe this will solve your problem.

Regards,

Dragan

John F.
Senior
Posted on August 24, 2011 at 14:52

Bypass your regulator and use a +3.3V supply. If you have analog supply and VBatt supply make sure these are connected. Still have a problem?

Make another PCB and solder only the passive components and decoupling and crystal etc. What current is drawn? Now insulate the other pads with tape and solder only the power pins of the microcontroller. What current is drawn? Go round the pins one by one with a voltmeter and see if that gives you any clue.