cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does anyone actually use the register names to program?

aerospacengineer
Associate II
Posted on September 20, 2013 at 03:12

That may seem like a bit of a pretentious question, but it is not intended to be so.  I am new to STM32 products, coming from PIC and dsPIC devices.  There are some changes that I am wrapping my head around, though nothing too bad. 

I have noticed that there is a tendency to not use the actual register names to set a value, but to use the structs and the defines in the header files to accomplish the programming.  This is not bad per say, though I really dislike digging through header files as documentation.  I like to be able to use a datasheet/addendum to have all the registers and then setting a value in that register.

Perhaps I am just missing something.  I would really love to hear some thoughts on this.  Perhaps there is other documentation that I am missing.  Thanks again.  I am looking forward to getting beyond the blinking lights and really using this device for something useful.

Adam
15 REPLIES 15
Posted on September 20, 2013 at 17:10

Documentation is hard to pitch, and API stuff is criminally dull stuff to read or write, and often written by the wrong people. The library code and peripheral function is best approached by looking at the source/comments, and having sufficiently rich examples. Different people need different things.

Beyond the register level descriptions there is also the nuanced behaviour and ordering issues. I'd rather chat with the silicon and software engineers, than the technical writers.

What I've tried to do here is a ''Cook Book'' approach, where the ''how do I do this'' type questions are roughed out in library code. With enough clear and concise examples it's relatively straight forward to fashion other solutions.

I use register level code when I need too, I just have zero interest debugging it for others, for free.