cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STUSB1602 pins connection

xKrerahpus
Associate II

Hi there,

I am seeking some guidance regarding the connection of the STUSB1602 to the STM32L031G6U6 microcontroller for a low-power application with a small footprint.

Currently, I have already connected the STUSB1602 to the microcontroller using the I2C interface. However, I am uncertain about the compatibility of the MCU, also wether do I need to connect the SSI pin interface. Given that I am relatively new to designing circuits, I am seeking clarification and advice on this matter.

Could you please provide insights into how I can properly connect the STUSB1602 to the STM32L031G6U6 microcontroller using the SSI pin interface? Additionally, I would appreciate any recommendations or resources that could assist me in ensuring compatibility and optimal performance.

I have also attach the schematic I'm talking about

Thank you very much for your time and assistance.

8 REPLIES 8
FBL
ST Employee

Hello @xKrerahpus 

You can refer to Application note - AN5164 - STEVAL-USBPD45C 45 W USB Type-C™ Power Delivery adapter 

Figure 34. STEVAL-USBPD45I digital control board schematics

Also check User manual - UM2404 - STEVAL-USBPD45C 45 W USB Type-C™ Power Delivery adapter reference design Figure 13. STEVAL-USBPD45I

About your second question, you can interface STM32L0 though i2C communication and SPI :

1. The I²C bus is used by the MCU to configure and control the device status. As the STUSB1602A
    has a customizable start-up profile that can be modified by accessing its integrated flash via the I2C.
  2. The SPI peripheral is reserved for Power Delivery communication. As the STUSB1602A embeds a BMC transceiver, every BMC encoded or decoded message exchanged between the MCU and the device is carried on the SPI bus.