cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Nucleo-f302r8 and x-nucleo-IHM08M1 : can't run motor profiler properly, C program to control a motor

Gnahore
Senior

Hi everyone,

I'm a french student in internship in a company and my project is about using 3 products : the NUCLEO-F302R8, the X-NUCLEO-IHM08M1 and a BLDC motor from Trinamic. Please consider me as a total beginner in this and so please use simple words.

I watched few videos how to turn on or turn off a motor with this kind of devices and I found out using ST Motor Control Workbench is what I need and the following tutorial could be really useful : https://wiki.stmicroelectronics.cn/stm32mcu/wiki/STM32StepByStep:Getting_started_with_Motor_Control

I launch the ST Motor Profiler then enter the pole pairs (4), the max speed (4000rpm), the max current (5A, the real max current my motor can handle is 6.67A but my generator can't supply above 5A) and the voltage bus (36V). However when i try to click on Start Profile button after connecting the board after few second the board start smoking (the motor do spin a little) and then the profile stop because of overheat fault. What's the issue?

Thanks to the videos I saw and the tutorial, I know ST Motor Workbench (and STM32CubeMX) will generate a C code to program the board and control the motor as I wish. Is there a file that group all the C functions to command the motor?

Finally, if I want to use an external button for something, how can I do that? Do I just have to connect it to one of the ST morpho connector? Like how to use input and output when the nucleo-f302r8 and x-nucleo-ihm08m1 are plugged together.

Thanks for reading.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hello Gnahore,

I am glad that you have found what you were searching for.