cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ThreadX on STM32: RAM nearly filled up

Ingenieer
Associate II

I'm currently starting to use ThreadX / AzureRTOS on a STM32 Nucleo-H723ZG (STM32H723ZG MCU).

I noticed that when loading the Nx_TCP_Echo_Server / Nx_TCP_Echo_Client projects from CubeMX, the RAM gets filled up pretty much to the top, which makes me wonder, how I'm supposed to add my own code and data here.

Since I'm pretty new to RAM partitioning, RTOS and similar, I don't have a perfect feeling for what is wrong or right and how to proceed (and if it is a problem at all).

Nevertheless I wonder, if maybe using a different way of partitioning the RAM or by dropping some non-necessary code-parts, the RAM could be freed-up.

Or a different way of thinking:

Since RAM_D1 got filled, but _D2, _D3 and DTCMRAM are pretty much empty, is there a way to use the free RAM for my own purposes (I would like to let SPI and ADC processing run via DMA, so this needs a place to go ....)

Hope my questions are not too confusing 😉

The system has the following amount of RAM, according to STM:

"SRAM: total 564 Kbytes all with ECC, including 128 Kbytes of data TCM RAM for critical real-time data + 432 Kbytes of system RAM (up to 256 Kbytes can remap on instruction TCM RAM for critical real time instructions) + 4 Kbytes of backup SRAM (available in the lowest-power modes)" (see STMs STM32H723ZG MCU product page)

Down below you'll find screenshots of the current RAM usage, for RAM_D1 especially .tcp_sec eats up most of the RAM.

--> Can .tcp_sec be optimized or kicked-out?

If tcp means here the tcp protocol, maybe this can be a way to optimize this, since I'm not sure whether I need a handshake etc., maybe UDP is sufficient (and faster for the ADC data streaming) ... what do you say?

Edit: