cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Understanding 5V tolerance and internal pull up/down resistors

Diez.R.
Associate II

Hi all:

I have problems understanding the pull up/down situation with regards to 5V tolerance.

I must admit that I have limited hardware knowledge, so please be gentle. I have searched and read a lot, but couldn't find a definitive answer yet.

Say that I have one board with an STM32F407VGT6 running at 3,3 V. This board has one UART Rx (input) on one pin, which is 5V tolerant according to the datasheet.

Say that I can connect this board to 1 of 2 other boards, each with one UART Tx (output). One of the boards runs at 3.3 V, the other at 5 V.

I want to tell the customer that he/she can connect either board. That should be fine because the STM32 is 5V tolerant.

Let's ignore for this exercise of understanding the start-up problem, where the 5V may come before the 3.3V is there, overstepping the VDD + 4V limit in the datasheet.

Normally, a UART Rx pin should be pulled up. But I cannot use the internal pull-up, right? It is not really clear from the STM documentation, but the following external source says that the input voltage is pulled down to around 4V because of the internal pull-up, and that is risky because some internal diode 'clamps' then:

https://github.com/ARMmbed/mbed-os/issues/5102

For my understanding: Is the internal pull-down affected too? According to this source, yes:

http://forums.netduino.com/index.php?/topic/10401-guidance-using-5v-signals-with-pull-upspull-downs/

But AN4899 only warns about the internal pull-up, and not the internal pull-down. If I could enable the pull-down, I could at least prevent the input from floating if no board is connected

Say that I always need a pull-up, and a pull-down won't do it.