cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trouble connecting MPU-9250 breakout to STM32 Nucleo F411RE

MGall.6
Associate II

Hi everyone,

I'm really new to the whole concept of STM32, and I'm having trouble interfacing with my MPU-9250, which looks like:

0693W00000HoFalQAF.png 

The Breakout board does not actually do much to the Invensense MPU-9250 chip, only provides some basic power regulation and pull-ups.

My STM32 Board is the Nucleo F411RE, and I've hooked them up like this:

0693W00000HoFb5QAF.png 

I found a library for the core chip of the InvenSense MPU-9250 for STM32 here: https://github.com/talhaSr/mpu9250

I'm also attaching the main.cpp file which I created for the project hoping it could show how I'm implementing the code. I've added the libraries (also declaring which I2C port to use in mpu9250.c as per the wiring diagram) from the github page as shown below:

0693W00000HoFbtQAF.png 

The MPU-9250 breakout board doesn't seem to connect, as it returns a 0 during the whoAmI_Check function.

Any help on why the device is not connected would be greatly appreciated.

4 REPLIES 4
TDK
Guru

Use HAL_I2C_IsDeviceReady and ensure it returns HAL_OK to verify connectivity before you do anything else.

Your logic here is faulty. If the function returns HAL_OK, then data has not been populated and you shouldn't be checking it. If the function succeeds, you don't verify the value in your code.

HAL_StatusTypeDef whoAmI_Check(MPU9250_t *mpu9250)
{
	uint8_t data;
	/* MPU9250 Who Am I Register Check */
	if (readByte(&hi2c2, mpu9250 -> I2C_Addr, WHO_AM_I, &data) != HAL_OK)
	{
		if (data != 0x71)
			return HAL_ERROR;
	}
	/* AK8963 Who Am I Register Check */
	if (readByte(&hi2c2, mpu9250 -> I2C_Addr_Mag, WIA, &data) != HAL_OK)
	{
		if (data != 0x48)
			return HAL_ERROR;
	}
	return HAL_OK;
}