cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ST25R3916 - Is it implementable in an Android device?

Don1
Associate II

We have a current device that utilizes the st25r3911b and the stollmann stack.

Now that the Stollmann NFC protocol stack is no longer, is there a stack that can replace it in Android in the the ST world and the ST25R3916 or is NXP the only NFC solution for Android?

I'm a hardware engineer on theproject.

Thanks for reading,

Don

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Ulysses HERNIOSUS
ST Employee

Hi Don,

Android phones typically use the Broadcom NFC stack (libnfc-nci). Also phones like Pixel 4 which features ST54J interfaces to my knowledge to the libnfc-nci.

So if you have an MCU with a firmware talking NCI to interface with ST25R3911/16 you should be able to easily integrate into Android environment.

Regards, Ulysses

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Ulysses HERNIOSUS
ST Employee

Hi Don,

Android phones typically use the Broadcom NFC stack (libnfc-nci). Also phones like Pixel 4 which features ST54J interfaces to my knowledge to the libnfc-nci.

So if you have an MCU with a firmware talking NCI to interface with ST25R3911/16 you should be able to easily integrate into Android environment.

Regards, Ulysses

Ulysses,

I have looked all over the ST site and can find no reference designs that implement NCI 2.0 on a microcontroller to support the ST25R3911/16.

The only thing that seems to be available are proprietary NDEF and RFAL implementations: https://www.st.com/content/st_com/en/products/embedded-software/mcu-mpu-embedded-software/stm32-embedded-software/stm32cube-expansion-packages/x-cube-nfc6.html