cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Issues with debugging on USART1 using X-NUCLEO-NFC05A1 and NUCLEO-F401RE

Simon R.
Associate II

Hello all,

I will start by saying that I am new to STM32 development and that your patience is very appreciated for what I hope is a simple problem.

I am working with a X-NUCLEO-NFC05A1 mounted on a NUCLEO-F401RE.

I have successfully imported the example project 'Polling' from the X-CUBE-NFC5 software expansion into Atollic TrueStudio and have uploaded the code to the board.

The behavior of the compiled code is apparently identical to that of the included binary; everything seems to be working fine in the default configuration.

The 'Polling' project has USART debugging on USART2 by default. This is a bit of a problem because in order for the USART2 pins (PA2 and PA3) to be accessed from the NUCLEO-F401RE expansion board's headers, SB62 and SB63 must be closed (I've verified that this works and that I can read USART2), but doing this sacrifices the ST-Link functionailty (which I want to retain).

This topic is discussed here: https://os.mbed.com/forum/platform-34-ST-Nucleo-F401RE-community/topic/4949/?page=1#comment-24785

So what I would like to do is use the debugging function 'platformLog()' in the 'Polling' project with USART1 (or USART6) rather than USART2. The issue is that I am having trouble changing it successfully. In my attempts to change it, I have never gotten any signals from the USART1 pins in my 'Polling' project, though I am able to do so if I start a project from scratch.

In other projects, I can read USART1 traffic from the pin headers (even with the NFC05A1 expansion board on top of the NUCLEO-F401RE). So I think it is a coding issue on my side.