cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inquiry Regarding STMicroelectronics' EVLVIPGAN100PD Reference Design

nesrine12
Associate III

I hope this email finds you well. My name is Nesrine AYED, and I am a student and i'm currently working on my final year project, which involves the development of a 100W USB Power Delivery (PD) adapter. In my research, I came across the EVLVIPGAN100PD reference design from STMicroelectronics, and I am interested in obtaining further information to aid in my project development.

I would like to inquire about the following aspects of the reference design:

Output Voltage Flexibility:
Could you please clarify whether the EVLVIPGAN100PD evaluation board is capable of delivering different output voltages based on the device connected, or does it provide a fixed voltage output?

Communication Protocol:
I am curious to know how the VIPERGAN100 and the USB PD controller STUSB4761 communicate with each other within the reference design. Specifically, I am interested in understanding if there is a communication protocol utilized (e.g., I2C, SPI) for this purpose.

Connector Functions:
Upon reviewing the daughter board schematic, I noticed the presence of two connectors labeled TRIM and PG. I would appreciate it if you could provide insights into the functions and utility of these connectors within the reference design.

Gaining clarity on these aspects would greatly contribute to my understanding of the reference design and its suitability for my project goals.

Thank you very much for your attention to this matter. I look forward to receiving your response and further guidance.

Best regards,

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Peter BENSCH
ST Employee

For this reason, there is the STUSB4761, which informs the connected sink (e.g. notebook, phone) via CC channel (CC1, CC2) which PDOs are available. Of these PDOs, the sink then requests the one with the highest possible voltage and current.