cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Quickest Start Guide FP-CLD-AWS1 v3.0.1 - download and debug from IDE

Scott Löhr
Senior II

ST, et. al.: My experience is that ST documents well all of the sample apps and projects, so I feel like I am stupidly missing something obvious here and make this post hesitantly. But I have lost way too much time on this issue after reading and re-reading UM2178, UM2186, & UM2708 and many readme.txt files, and other assets. To my surprise, I cannot find anyone else asking this fundamental question, so I am really feeling dumb asking.

My fundamental getting started problem with the whole AWS-IOT development package running on the B-L4S51-IOT01A is this: How in the heck do I get started developing - how can I change one line of code and then download and run from the debugger and see this change running?

I have spent several days getting oriented with this new (for me) package (note that I have many years of experience working with the STM32, STM32WB, Blue-NRG, Spirit1, and all of the ST MEMS, and decades working with IAR) and it almost killed me to finally solve this most fundamental getting started problem.

For sure, the pre-built .bin downloads and runs on the B-L4S51-IOT01A and I can right away see it in the ST Dashboard updating values. But now I want to start developing this app, making proprietary behavior, and so I need to run from the debugger. I was able to change something obvious (negating the accel Z-axis value) and build a new .bin and program that .bin and run it and see the change in the ST Dashboard - yup, now with the board in the same position as before, the Z-axis is negative. But if I download and run from the IAR debugger, the code is hung in all of the incredibly complex SBSFU code.