cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to enable and access Finite State Machine angle reading for LSM6DSOX for use with Arduino Uno?

NMitr.3
Associate

I have limited experience coding in C and C++, and I am new to the interfacing of breakout boards. I have done a lot of reading on the documentation for the LSM6DSOX and feel quite familiar with its capacities, but I am finding the application of the code to be beyond my scope, at least for my project's timetable.

I'm trying to enable and access the Angle calculation (Section 6.4 in AN5273) from integration of gyroscope data in the Finite State Machine onboard the LSM6DSOX, while interfaced with Arduino UNO. I have yet to find any libraries or examples on GitHub that clearly align with my use case. Is this possible without the use of Unico GUI? If not, what would the process with Unico be for uploading a configuration to the board?

I attempted to find discussion of this on the Community Boards and Q/A sections. Apologies if I missed it.

2 REPLIES 2
Eleon BORLINI
ST Employee

Hi @NMitr.3​ ,

Unico is useful for configuring the FSM in a debug phase: you can acquire data with the hardware, configure and tune FSM parameters with Unico, and then export the register configuration code as .h file in your C project.

For example, you can check the code on the Github platform (if you have not already done it), especially this repository --> lsm6dsox or lsm6dsox_fsm_raw.c.

Specifically for the Angle calculation feature, this should be simple since you don't have to configure many steps to get the angle as output, but it depends on the final requirements of your application.

-Eleon

Thanks @Eleon BORLINI​ ,