cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I configure the MEMS Microphones as input for STM32F746-DISCO ?

Somekind
Associate

Good evening to you all,

I’m a first year engineer student in electronics and I’m on a personal project with my STM32F746NG-DISCO.

Long story short, we’re making a beacon coverage prototype in the canope of Guyana (in areas of interest) to hinder illegal gold panning.

The idea is to use our board’s 2 MEMS microphones to detect a sound, low-pass filter it, FFT it and then make it mathematically useable (but it’s another story).

The first step is already bugging us. It seems impossible for me to get the right documentation on those MEMS microphones. They are connected to the CODEC of the board, that’s for sure but how do I even “talk�? to the codec using the STM32CubeIDE ?

I think we are not looking the right direction or we are too disoriented by our lack of knowledge and experience.

I would like to know how those darn MEMS microphones work, where to see the data (apparently with SAI) and how to configure them first (apparently with SPI) or just having a clearer picture of how to use them the correct way.

Thank you a lot for those who want to help us, this has been bugging us for about a month now…

Have a nice evening,

Sincerely, Theo

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Eleon BORLINI
ST Employee

Hi Theo @Théo Akbas​ ,

that's an interesting application, indeed! Can you please add more details about your application in the Message section (top right of the page, near your profile image)?

As concerns your question, I would suggest you to start from existing projects running on ST platforms, such as the BlueTile (STEVAL-BCN002V1B) or the Bluecoin (STEVAL-BCNKT01V1), that are ready-to-use, even if not running on STM32F7.