cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Try ST evaluation boards remotely!

MikeGrovety
Associate II

Hi all!

I'm an embedded developer with 15+ years of experience. And now I am working on a project that seems to be useful for developers like me. But there is a great lack of feedback. I'm asking for help from the professional community.

What is it: a web service for remote access to evaluation boards of different manufacturers (ST boards are now available). The idea is that the user will not have to pay money or wait to try any evaluation board - just go to the web site, select the desired board and use it:

• connect from your locally installed IDE (Eclipse, Keil, IAR)
  • develop the firmware, flash it, debug it (including step by step tracing, breakpoints - everything as usual)
  • board power management
  • see what's happening via your browser (live-video of the board - it’s LCD, diodes, etc.)
  • work with UART (and many other interfaces are coming)

Your source codes remain with you, only the binary data is transmitted to the server, and between sessions, the default firmware is flashed on the board.

There are many ideas that can still be screwed on, but it seems better to act not blindly, but based on feedback from the professionals. Would you like to share your ideas? Let's do a really useful thing for all embedded developers.

If you are ready to try it and then share your opinion - send me a private message and I’ll send you a URL, login, and password.

P.S. Please also find our “promo�? PDF attached

9 REPLIES 9

Yeah I like the idea. However, with any new company, the first thing is that I go to Contacts and look for address. Trust building, you know.

Who you are? Where are you from?

JW

MikeGrovety
Associate II

We are doing the project under Grovety company (USA), but I personally am a developer from Russia

Pavel A.
Evangelist III

What if a smart remote user bricks your board? =)