cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use the LSM6DSOX from SensorTile.box?

NB.1990
Associate II

Hi, I'm relatively new to microprocessors and everything ST. I've recently been assigned to a project that is supposed to use the LSM6DSOX to track movement within a 3D space. I have the SensorTile.box and a STM32Nucleo-L476RG board. I've been having a lot of trouble trying to use the sensor within the SensorTile.box. I tried using Unico GUI, but it won't detect my sensor when I connect it to my computer. I confirmed the SensorTile.box is on, and my computer detects its presence (I'm able to see it in the File Explorer and access the contents of the board). I have STM32CUBEIDE installed, I installed the X-CUBE-MEMS1 Additional Software Pack, I tried downloading the STM Virtual COM Port drivers, but I still can't seem to get this to work. I am running Windows 10, and have tried the most recent versions of all the above mentioned software. Can anybody help me get started, or at least steer me in the right direction? The online videos I've found have people seamlessly using Unico GUI, which I just can't seem to get working with the SensorTile.box. The Virtual COM port detects my Nucleo Board just fine, though. I feel very overwhelmed by all the different aspects of the IDE and microprocessors and all of this, and am quite lost in this situation. Simply put (I think), how do I get the data generated from the LSM6DSOX sensor, and use that data on another board or device (the Nucleo board). Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hi @Community member​ , don't worry �� Windows is doing well detecting your ST.box as a mass storage device.

The fact is that ST.box can work in different modes: Mode 1, Mode 2 and Mode 3, increasing the "complexity" of the approach. Your sentence here below refers to Mode 1 and Mode 2 --> see here for a detailed description.