cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

stm32cubeide update failed

redwil
Associate II

hello all,

I do appreciate the 'free' stuff since I am a small/independent/yet-to-make-profit developer, I am disappointed with the  IDE in a couple of years so need to update, as far eclipse related updates work well (seem to download and install) but st.com related are finicky. The ide update process starts downloading from st,com update site it goes up t cca 90% download (a certain component, not all, not always the same) then is stops without a noticeable reason.

Sine the decision was made to have an an executable rather than a script to start the .jar main we have no idea how and what is going on. debug info is scarce, command line options info inexistent (or hard to find. I did not fund them). slf4j is not bundled so no log hence no idea of what is going on.... blah blah

I do not mind to be bashed if people feel like it although I would appreciate some help (I am not asking often)

I have a couple of questions if somebody knows the answers.

1) how to debug the IDE, get some meaningful info about what is going on

2) where are the user prefs/customization kept. this goes with the next. I want to keep my customization.

3) if unzip/untar the distribution over an existing one is the same as update from within the IDE ok or better replace the whole directory.

sorry guys. just frustrated. I am thankfully though that something like this exists. it helps a bit.

Rant... sorry

- eclipse platform although good is bloated.. not everybody has the latest and the greatest hardware/os

- not everybody uses windows

- there are some dinosaurs out there they think sw should be lean, mean and efficient. it's an art

- actually the some end users are smart. they do not need to be told 'this is the way', 'we know better' ... etc

and so on..

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
redwil
Associate II

just an update