Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cubeide download program without erase full chip

Raycooldes
Associate II

Hello,My name is Ray.

I'm an end user that come from Taiwan,I'm still learning coding with stm32

Recently​ i encounter a problem about debug via STMCubeIDE,The version is 1.15.1

Once i coding fine and process into debug mode,it will perform a full chip erase and download the biniary program that i wrote and compiler with IDE,But some variables i want to save in flash memory will be erased if download program

I tried to uncheck [download] in debug settings,it will work that my variables will not be modified,But that situation just suitable if i'm done with whole coding.

Then i tried to survey some solutions that can aviod erase my memory range,Before I do the survey.I had checked that the memory user can write in is from 0x08000000~0x08080000,After i check user text and flash.ld,i found that some user context will occupied some memories,so i decided to write at 0x0800200

After doing these checking method,i modified linker file with some code below:

.eeprom :

{

. += 0x200;

. = ALIGN(0x800); -->2Kbytes

}

} >FLASH

It will worked that the code will skip 0x08000200 with 2000bytes area,but the IDE will do a full erase if i want to download the new version of program..How can i tell the ide to avoid this problem?

I tried to add[NOLOAD] after.eeprom : like.eeprom{NOLOAD] : but it's not effective.

i thought it is effect only on system power on but not in the situation that progress a programm download..

Please help me with this question if there is some scripts to configure Debugmode of Cubeide,or some codes that i didn't notice,Thanks a lot!

/*note*/