cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems starting BLE stack with NUCLEO-STM32WB55-Nucleo board - Confusing observations

MDaub.1
Associate III

I am a beginner with STM32 and the NUCLEO-STM32WB55 board.

The preflashed demo application worked without problems. When I installed the STM32WB55 MCU package, a couple of examples were available like the BLE HRS service.

I managed to import the project, compile and flash it, but nothing 'happened'. Couldn't see any advertisements, no UART debug messages, etc.

Tried another one, still the same behavior. Started reading about the whole eco-system and saw that there were firmware binaries in the MCU package. Despite that the first pre-flashed project worked, I wanted to give it a try and flashed according to the release-notes:

How to flash the Wireless Coprocessor Binary via USB (STM32CubeProgrammer GUI)

Inside the below procedure, the references to binaries name and install address are provided in the section Main Changes of this file.

STEP 1: Use STM32CubeProgrammer GUI

Version 2.4.0 or higher.

It gives access to Firmware Upgrade Service (FUS) (AN5185 : ST firmware upgrade services for STM32WB Series.) through Bootloader.

It is currently available as Graphical User Interface (GUI) mode (or Command Line Interface (CLI) mode).

STEP 2: Access to Bootloader USB Interface (system flash)

Boot mode selected by Boot0 pin set to VDD
For P-NUCLEO-WB55.Nucleo :
Jumper between CN7.5(VDD) and CN7.7(Boot0)
Power ON via USB_USER and Jumper JP1(USB_MCU)
For P-NUCLEO-WB55.USBDongle :
Move switch SW2 to Boot0
Connect P-NUCLEO-WB55.USBDongle
open STM32CubeProgrammer GUI and select “USB�?
in USB configuration: (Port: USB1) then select “Connect�?
STEP 3 : Delete current wireless stack

in Firmware Upgrade Services: select “Delete Firmware�?
STEP 4 : Read and upgrade FUS Version

in Firmware Upgrade Services: select “Read FUS state�?
0x20030030 : 00050300 : FUSv0.5.3 => Must be updated using STEP 5.