cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the most efficient way to scale up a bitmap image in terms of CPU usage.

rmsaad
Associate

Hello, I have a STM32H747-DISCO Discovery kit. I am still fairly new to STM32 so forgive my ignorance but I was wondering what is the most efficient way (in terms of cpu usage) to perform a picture perfect image upscale on a bitmap image (see picture below).

0693W00000CzryiQAB.jpg 

From the link below it seems that it might be possible to offload some of the resizing work onto the DMA2D/Chrom-art accelerator but I am having trouble analyzing the source code.

https://www.electro-tech-online.com/articles/stm32f429-dma2d-bilinear-bitmap-resize.735/

Anyone have anymore examples, information or alternative solutions on this problem?

2 REPLIES 2
rmsaad
Associate

0693W00000Czs13QAB.gifFor context, I am creating gameboy emulator and my current 3x upscale implementation of writing to my buffer 9 times for each pixel is a bit too slow and I that's before I've implemented any sound emulation.

That's a very neat trick, that used in the linked article, but I'm not sure it will help in your particular case. It's quite computationally extensive to do the blending needed for the random-zoom-factor algorithm in software, thus in comparison offloading it to the DMA2D is super efficient; if you just want to plainly double the pixels, I'm not sure it will make such a spectacular difference.

So, that algorithm does two things: (bi)linear color interpolation based on blending, and "stretching"/"contracting" in space. Let's just concentrate on the latter, and let's just simplify the problem to the particular 2x2 stretch.