cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to get LTDC working on STM32H735G-DK

hanton
Associate

Hello everyone

I recently bought an STM32H735G-DK Discovery Kit, which has a 480x272 parallel LCD. I got the TouchGFX Demo projects running on the board, so I know all the hardware is working as it should.

Eventually I want to use TouchGFX on a custom board, so I am trying to configure a new project 'from scratch'. I am very new to the STM32 ecosystem, so I thought I would keep things simple and try to display something on the LCD with a framebuffer in the internal RAM.

So I started a new project in the STM32CubeIDE, from an existing ioc file (the one from one of the TouchGFX examples). I then disabled OCTOSPI1, OCTOSPI2, FREERTOS, LIBJPEG, TOUCHGFX, CRC, in order to have a project which is as bare bones as possible.

Following this guide (https://support.touchgfx.com/docs/development/board-bring-up/how-to/02-cpu-running), i was able to access the internal RAM (with some trial and error, I found I could address bytes 0x08000000to 0x08100000.

I then continued to this guide (https://support.touchgfx.com/docs/development/board-bring-up/how-to/03-display-internal). I was able to see the LTDC interrupt working by utilizing break points in the debugger. I started with a partial framebuffer of 480x100. This way I am sure that it fits in the internal RAM.
However, I was not able to get a red screen, as I would expect following the tutorial. My screen stays black. I am unsure what I am doing wrong. I am also unsure what I should put in the 'Color Frame Buffer Start Address', since it seems I should declare the framebuffer myself? I feel like I am missing something, but I don't know what or where to look.

ltdc-config.png

I hope you can help me get past this 'issue'.

Kind regards

Anton

2 REPLIES 2
Osman SOYKURT
ST Employee

Hello @hanton , 

I can see it's your first post in our forum. Welcome to the community 😀