cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Weird behavior of timer after setting CNT register to 0 after specific time

Sarim-Jalil
Associate II

Hi,

I have background knowledge of programming and MCUs but I am fairly new to the STM32 ecosystem. I am trying to measure the RPM of a motor using an optical encoder that gives pulses on the output. I have done this on Arduino using the interrupts and I know that the encoder works well. My application requires me to do it with STM32F030C8T6. I have taken the approach of using two timers for this purpose. I am using TIM3 of this MCU in Encoder mode and TIM14 to generate an interrupt after every 100ms to read the CNT register of TIM3 and then reset it to 0 so that next time I can get the number of pulses. I am sending the number of pulses through a serial to a laptop. Everything is fine until I set the CNT register to zero. The counter increments correctly in increasing order, an interrupt is generated after every 100 ms, and data is sent to serial. but I need to set the CNT to zero to get the number of pulses in 100ms not the incremented value every time. When I set the CNT to 0 as shown in the serial terminal below for some time I get the correct value which is "20" but other times I get 16,17,18 or sometimes under 10. I have attached the SS of the code.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
TDK
Guru

> I was able to make it work with my current approach by using the input filter value of 10 on both channels.

To me that suggests the signal is rather noisy. I would make your own assessment of the direction via the CNT register rather than relying on DIR.

DIR is calculated on any transition, prior to application of the filter. If you have jitter, DIR won't give you what you want.

If you feel a post has answered your question, please click "Accept as Solution".

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
TDK
Guru