cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

stm32H7 - USB application - HSE or HSI+CRS

jmf1
Associate III

Hello,

I'm a hobbyist and I'm working on a USB to 4xI2S (8 channels using the SAIs) using a stm32H7 MCU. I have a proof of concept working on a stm32F7 discovery board. I'm starting to look at the dedicated board.

I understand that the USB peripheral needs a precise clock, which can't be achieved alone by the internal HSI oscillator, as it is not precise enough. The stm32H7 has a clock recovery system, CRS, to calibrate the HSI with the SOF signal.

Would you have experience with using the HSI+CRS?

Are there tricks in the implementation if the Return of Experience was positive?

Safer to go with a 8Mhz HSE?

Best regards,

JMF

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
AScha.3
Chief II

Hi,

yes, always better to use HSE / crystal or oscillator .

And for audio...anyway: want best, low jitter clock source. (Never an internal RC-osc.)

If you feel a post has answered your question, please click "Accept as Solution".

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
AScha.3
Chief II

Hi,

yes, always better to use HSE / crystal or oscillator .

And for audio...anyway: want best, low jitter clock source. (Never an internal RC-osc.)

If you feel a post has answered your question, please click "Accept as Solution".

Thanks for the confirmation.

For the audio part, my intention is to feed the SAI with dedicated crystals fit to 48k and 44.1k frequencies.

Best regards,

JMF

Right,

or other way round : i use an ES9038 DAC, as SAI master with its own low jitter clock ( AS318-B ), and it can be set to the desired sampling rate . So no clock switching needed . (CPU has its standard crystal, 8M or 24MHz .)

And for USB usually a crystal is recommended for stable connection anyway .