cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Porting IAP

Daniel Hatcher
Associate II
Posted on January 03, 2018 at 10:16

Hello, I am new to STM 32 devices so go easy. I would like to port over the IAP included in the AN4854 which is for a STM32072B Evaluation board over to a STM32f746 Discovery board. I have read through the application note a few times. I have previous experience with IAP on other devices so the memory mapping is not the issue....at the moment. What I am struggling on is after changing the device name, my understanding is I then have to change the HAL drivers. What is the best way to go about this without incurring lots of errors?

Thank you

#stm32-f7 #stm32f7-hal #stm32-iap
13 REPLIES 13
Daniel Hatcher
Associate II
Posted on January 09, 2018 at 10:48

So, I was opening the BIN file incorrectly which caused the flash to happen incorrectly, in my case not at all. I have managed to get the device to flash and have read back the device memory and all seems okay. I have opened the file view a hex viewer and starting at 0x0801000, the correctly areas of the device have been flashed with the correctly data. The only issue is that after I jump to application nothing happens. How can I check to set that 

SCB->VTOR is set correctly? Also is there any other common errors that would cause the processor to flash and jump to app but not run? 

Thanks

Thomas Fischer
Associate II
Posted on January 09, 2018 at 11:22

Hello,

in older IAP examples

SCB->VTOR was set in main.c,

however in newer versions of the HAL lib,

SCB->VTOR is set in file system_stm32??xx.c  in function SystemInit().

SystemInit is called from function Reset_Handler in startup_stm32??.s,

that means before main()

So the #define VECT_TAB_OFFSET in file system_stm32??xx.c must be set correct.

It's also useful to disable interrupt global before jumping to application.

Best regards

Thomas
Posted on January 09, 2018 at 20:21