cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to write data efficiently to an SD card ?

johngj
Senior

I am writing data to an SD card for a data logger application, but I have very little experience with writing to SD cards so I want to ensure I am writing the data efficiently.

My understanding is that data is written as a sector of 512 bytes.  So even if I write a single byte, it will need to write all 512 bytes in a sector to do so ?

I am using the FatFs driver with an SPI interface running on the NUCLEO-L433RC-P dev board.

At the moment I create a binary file and start the file with the UNIX time, followed by samples (each 14 bytes in length) until the data log is completed. 

Each sample consists of a 4-byte tick time and 10-bytes of serial data received via the UART (at a 100ms rate):

• Tick time from HAL_GetTick()  (32 bits)
  • Temperature (8 bits)
  • Voltage high byte (8 bits)
  • Voltage low byte (8 bits)
  • Current high byte (8 bits)
  • Current low byte (8 bits)
  • Consumption high byte (8 bits)
  • Consumption low byte (8 bits)
  • Speed high byte (8 bits)
  • Speed low byte (8 bits)
  • CRC (8 bits)

The diagram below shows the structure of the binary file, with just 4 samples for simplicity.  The number of samples for a real data log would obviously be much higher than could fill the entire SD card.

johngj_2-1707419795099.png

I currently write to the SD card (using f_write) each time the serial data is received (~100ms), but I believe this is inefficient because it writes a sector of 512 bytes a time and it takes a certain amount of time to write the data.  I also think this technique might cause additional wear on the SD card ?

So how should I write this data efficiently ?

Should I wait until I have enough data to fit into a single sector before performing the write ?  If so, I could only fit 36 samples in a sector as this would be 508 bytes...