cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hardfault_Handler() with minimum new project

Stoufer
Associate III

Hi - I am new to the STM32CubeIDE - moving from Attolic.

I have created a new STM32 project using STM32CubeIDE 1.9.0 for a STM32L151VET6 using New Project.

Our board is built to use an internal oscillator. 

I can try to debug the basically empty new created project or add just a for loop in the while(1) in main() and either way it immediately stops on Hardfault_Handler. 

In the Fault Analyzer :

X Bus, memory management or usage fault (FORCED)

X Imprecise data access violation (IMPRECISER)

X Stacking error (STKERR)

I have set a breakpoint on the while(1) and on the for loop inside it and neither are ever hit.

I believe I have set the pins in the IOC to match my board ( UART, SPI, GPIO )

Any suggestions on how to proceed ?

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Pavel A.
Evangelist III

Good. Now compare the link scripts. Then the startup .s files. 

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
TDK
Guru

IMPRECISER would point to a clock issue. Perhaps insufficient wait states for your voltage/clock settings. Step through the program starting at the reset handler and find out where things start to go wrong.

If you feel a post has answered your question, please click "Accept as Solution".
Stoufer
Associate III

I placed breakpoints at the following locations - and it goes directly to hardfault_handler and does not hit these breakpoints.

Stoufer_0-1692127053164.png

Stoufer
Associate III

I did find the Reset_Handler and added a breakpoint at the first instruction ( inline asm ) - it never hits this one

either.. ( located in startup_stm32l151vetx.s )

Stoufer_0-1692132615864.png

TDK
Guru

If you can't run ANY code, then certainly the code is not the issue. Seems odd though.

Perhaps recheck your layout, verify power rails, decoupling caps, etc. Can you share the schematic?