cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

X-CUBE-NFC6 Polling demo modification and sending commands to NTP5332 NFCV tag

dwagner4
Associate III

Hello,

I am a university student working for the first time with anything NFC.  I have an X-NUCLEO-NFC08A1 board on a NUCLEO-L476RG, and the X-CUBE-NFC6 demo applications work fine for me.

I am just getting into the RFAL, and had a question about some custom commands that are implemented on the NTP5332 from NXP (the OM2NTP5332 dev board, to be precise).

The datasheet for the NTP5332 uses the custom commands WRITE_CONFIGURATION (code 0xC1) and READ_CONFIGURATION (code 0xC0) to set up the device's GPIO pins and other things, instead of the mandatory T5T commands READ SINGLE BLOCK and WRITE SINGLE BLOCK. (or their MULTIPLE block counterparts).  The datasheet section for READ CONFIGURATION is below.

dwagner4_0-1707090257720.png

I am following along with NXP's application note AN11203 which goes over setting GPIOs as inputs/outputs and reading their status from the RF perspective.  I had success writing to and reading from user EEPROM using the RFAL functions rfalNfcvPollerReadSingleBlock() and rfalNfcvPollerReadWriteBlock(), but things seem to go amiss when using those commands for reading/writing to the CONFIG blocks of the NTP5332.  The application note describes some commands to configure GPIO0 as an input and to read the status:

dwagner4_1-1707090592780.png

My main question is: what is the best way to go about using the functions in the Polling demo and RFAL to implement these custom commands?  I'm really quite new at this, and have been trying to use a function based on rfalNfcvPollerReadSingleBlock()that really only tries to pass the command 0xC0, the parameter 2, and the flag 4 to rfalNfcvPollerTransceiveReq, but no luck (I am getting a timeout error code).

dwagner4_2-1707090895442.png

Just wanted to see if there was a better/simpler way to go about testing this out that I am missing.